top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDaryien Pauze

My First PC Game

Little Nightmares II – A game Review


Four months ago, my boyfriend convinced me to not only get a PC but to build it with him. He’s built several, so I know he’s probably a reliable teacher. After 2 hours of building the most complicated (and expensive) puzzle in my life, it was completed! My very first and own desktop computer. Along with it being such a great school computer, it was also capable of being great for games. The only thing was I’ve never really gotten into gaming, other than the ones you play on boards. I recently found a computer game that I got sucked into, and by that, I mean time became just a concept and I could not step away.


As an enthusiast of all things dark, strange, and of the horror genre, I was immediately drawn into the previews that I saw of Little Nightmares II (2021), and I immediately knew I had to try it out. Little Nightmares II is a recent release that came out February 2021, and is a prequel to Little Nightmares (2017), both made by Tarsier Studios. Prior to finding Little Nightmares II, I had not heard of the first game. Though, because it is a prequel to Little Nightmares it would be okay to play Little Nightmares II to see if I even like it without spoiling any of the story.

So, I went to Steam and saw the game retailed for $39.99, though they also had a free demo of the game which was perfect to see if I was even going to enjoy it before buying my first video game. I downloaded the demo and immediately started playing. The game allows you to play with your keyboard or controller; the second is what I chose and would recommend.

Little Nightmares II starts with you playing a child character named “Mono” coming out of a television in the middle of the woods. Weird.


The first thing I noticed about this game was how beautiful the animation was; it was captivating and ominous at the same time. The creepy music box soundtrack that plays throughout the game sets the tone for the ride you’re about to embark on. It’s a brilliant use of music to captivate the player and add to the experience.

You start to make your way through the woods, going through some obstacles that will for sure get your heart racing. You wander into a cabin and meet another character, a girl named “Six,” who is also the main character in the first Little Nightmares game. From there you both have to escape the clutches of “The Hunter” and then make your way through more challenges and obstacles. Little Nightmares II is a puzzle-driven horror game; you have to think on your feet while your heart is beating out of your chest. After completing the approximately 30-minute demo, I knew I had to buy this game and I don’t regret it. From start to finish I played about 13 hours, and that was time well spent.


Little Nightmares II is a deadly game of hide and seek, with twists and turns that make you ponder your next move and embrace the story being told. This embrace of the story is what makes it so effective as a horror game. The story draws you in, and makes you question what’s around each corner. Making a horror game that doesn’t involve blood, guts, and gore, can be difficult; that’s what most horror video games rely on. This game, however, still manages to make you scared without all the violence.



My overall experience of playing was unquestionably great. There are secrets to unlock along the way (including an alternate ending) making every playthrough a new challenge. It’s a fun, quick story that will lead you down a deep dive of YouTube videos to learn about theories involving the characters and storyline. The artistic experience of this game is aimed squarely at those who appreciate game design, and the power of music in creating an atmosphere.

Little Nightmares II is rated 14+, and when it comes to evoking fear, Little Nightmares II does not hold back (minus the guts and gore) and definitely earns this rating.






20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pandemic Pals

I'm sure you are all so tired hearing about the pandemic, we're all living in this giant cluster of frustration and want life to go back to "normal," whatever the heck that is, and soon. I'm in my fin

bottom of page